Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Yesterday afternoon was my third visit to Enders Island in Mystic CT to partake of their Lenten Fish-Fry. I was there once last year and twice (so far) this year.
I arrived a bit early yesterday since I was terribly late the last time I had joined friends there for supper. I was hoping to have an opportunity to look around a bit and maybe take a few photographs. It felt significantly cooler than the high 50’s the thermometer was reading so I was hoping that just maybe the chapel would be open. The huge double doors were unlocked. I entered and was immediately taken by the sense of calm that surrounded me. It’s been a difficult few weeks for our family and for a few minutes that turmoil left me.  The stained glass windows were absolutely amazing.
No one else was present so I took a few photos. It was quite dim in the chapel so I wasn’t  sure how these images would come out. Before leaving I whispered a quiet “thank you” to whomever was listening and walked back out into the chilly evening air. My friend IP was just arriving, I recognized her shoes, she recognized my camera. It’s funny what we’re known by at times.
As two delightful ladies registered us our other two friends BS & BS,Jr were just arriving so we took our places at a hugh round table. Our orders were taken: we had a choice of batter fried or baked cod accompanied by freshly made coleslaw and piping hot french fries. But first, bowls of steaming hot New England clam chowder and crackers were placed in front of us.  The chowder was excellent and the steaming hot fish, chips and coleslaw were excellent (as usual).  We had spotted a tray of cupcakes decorated to look like Easter baskets and there’s always room for dessert so yes, those little delicacies disappeared in record time.

We sat for a while chatting and planning our next visit.  Maybe I’ll try the baked cod.  We’ll see.  Heading out for our cars, the sun was just setting over Morgan Point, Noank (Groton) so IP and I stopped to take a few more photographs.  I got the impression that she’s trying to convince me to invest in an  i-phone.  Getting into my car and heading for the causeway there was one last photo to take…rolling down the window, grabbing the camera one last “drive by” shot was taken.  Apologies to the vehicle waiting at the other end of the causeway to cross over.

A very pleasant evening with friends ended as I watched the crescent moon set over Colchester.

ps: click on 1 image to see slide show ep

 

