This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

What a great morning.

I was out the door at 7:15 am or as my son would say “oh dark thirty”.

First stop: Angelo’s Bakery ( you can find them on Facebook) here in Colchester to pick up 3 freshly made  not to be missed apple fritters. One each for my breakfast companions and one for me (for much later).

Next: down to the Shack-Groton for breakfast with I and B at 8:00 am. Very tasty blueberry pancakes were consumed along with lots of black coffee.

9:00 am I said good bye to I and B, crossed back over the Thames and headed down to the New London Waterfront Park. I’d seen a couple of schooner masts when I’d crossed the Thames on my way to the Shack. The New London waterfront was practically deserted but I’m pretty sure I walked off those pancakes while taking photos of a number of schooners and other smaller wind powered vessels.

10:15 am heading up I-395 N to Colchester but one more stop before I get back home. The Sunday morning Farmers Market on the Green would be my source of tomatoes, squash and maybe a bit of fish from “Local Catch”.

10:45 am: at The CFM  My favorite vendor’s spot had been moved but I found him. But…not before I stopped to browse the Burgis Brook Alpaca Farm’s booth. This was a new vendor on the Green and as I looked at the beautifully knit pieces on display and for sale it occurred to me that the work looked very much like some that a good family friend (Ali) has made in the past. Guess what? Turning to query the vendor as to the creator of these lovely pieces  who was standing behind me but Ali. I hadn’t seen her in two years. And yes, Ali had made many of the items on display. What a reunion! After a lengthy chat with the vendor and Ali, we walked the remainder of the market picking up a few more treats.

Home: 11:45 am!

.

