April 6th 2015 is also known as Tartan Day.  There will be a grand parade in NYC to celebrate this date.  Bagpipes , drums and kilts.  But I digress:

Monday morning:  satisfy an intense craving for a McDonald’s sausage biscuit & coffee.  Stop & Shop for groceries, then to the Senior Center to sign up for some events this month.  Home!  Hmmm….the sun is shining and the temperature is a balmy 55°F.  I left the car out in the drive and push broomed and shoveled 10 pounds (no joke) of sand off the garage floor.  Can I get my money back if I return it to CT DOT?  Probably not.  Then I glanced over at the area where last year I planted some bulbs and to my amazement there were signs of life!

So keeping in mind the sun and temperature I got the rake and clippers and hauled out 3 barrels of wet, soggy rotting leaves and more sand!  There’s all kinds of life under that yucky stuff.  The 2nd year hydrangea has buds, the hardy chrysanthemums are peeping up, iris? I think and some green fuzzy thing I purchased at Scott’s in Niantic 2 years ago.  There should be two of those.

The good news is that there are other “things” coming up.  I confess that I’m not a gardener.  I plant things, feed and water them as needed but they’re on their own after that.  So, what are these other things that are coming up?  Some look like tulips but I don’t recall planting tulips.  I also planted alium but I’ve no idea what it looks like as it emerges from the ground.

I’d say all of this is a blonde thing but the blonde went away a long time ago.  So, it’s almost 3:30PM and I haven’t had lunch yet.  I guess I’ll wait a while and have supper instead.  It may be necessary to down a couple of Extra Strength Tylenol in the meantime!

Memo to Mother Nature:  Don’t even think about sending us a killing frost dearie.IMG_1708 out front

Last summer's garden

Last summer’s garden

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

