Tags

, , , ,

IMG_6174 dancer 433

IMG_6172 dancer C

IMG_6171 Brown feather dancer

IMG_6169 jingle dressIMG_6164 Honor Guard

IMG_6162 fire pitSummer is winding down and believe me I don’t miss the wicked heat and “wickeder” humidity. On a whim this past Sunday I decided to visit the festival at Fort Shantock in Uncasville CT. The theme was “Honoring the Four Directions”. Native American crafts, foods and dance competitions were featured.
I parked in a designated garage and was shuttled along with many other visitors by a huge and comfy bus to the gathering prior to visiting virtually all of the craft tents before finding a seat to view the Grand Entry of the dancers and Native Americans all dressed in stunning attire.
While waiting for the Grand Entry to begin various invited drum groups (Unity of Nations, Silver Cloud and Rezdogs) as well as Mystic River and Southern Eagle drums treated us to the rhythm of pounding drums, chants and native songs. We were entertained by Polynesian and Fire Knife dancing as well as the various invited drum groups warming up. A taste of things to come.

There were hundreds of participants in the Grand Entry and a sight to behold as they danced and swirled in a spiraling circle around the fire pit totally filling the huge arena under the tent. All of the seats for guests were filled to SRO.
I hope the attached images may convey some of the color of this event. They’re not my best work but I think you will get a feel for what I was lucky enough to witness.
Great! more heat and humidity tomorrow!

