IMG_0639IMG_0645IMG_0636IMG_0643IMG_0632 ep CBut who’s really counting anyway! Carol, a long time friend, fellow pilot, photographer and occasional travelling companion took me to lunch today at Paul’s Pasta in downtown Groton, CT. We had a delicious lunch, dessert and a half carafe of wine as well!! mmmmm good.
We were given a choice of eating inside or out on the weather enclosed porch overlooking the Thames River and down town New London. Since it’s a bit breezy and the drizzle occasionally turns to a downpour today we decided to dine inside. Yours truly had the lobster raviolis drenched in a decadent pink sauce and Carol had the scallop special.
Before we said out good byes, Carol gave me a card typical for women of a “certain age” and a bottle of red wine with the flavor of chocolate and strawberries. Then I asked for another favor, to please take a “head shot” of me to replace the shot of me holding a “bergie bit” (a chunk of an iceberg from the glacier floating in the sound) in front of the LeConte glacier in Alaska that is appearing at present on my FaceBook page.
My car was parked out behind the restaurant and as I walked to it I was quite taken by some of the flowers that were in bloom. It wasn’t a formal garden by any means, I resisted the urge to pull some of the weeds but I did take some photographs. I think that at some time, it was a well tended garden but the natural appearance this afternoon was notable.
So friends, it’s Memorial Day Weekend, why not go to a parade, salute or place your hand over your heart, stand in the rain and please remember those brave men and women of all our armed forces who have given their lives to protect our freedom.

